The Jamnalal Bajaj Awards for Fair Business Practices is a significant milestone that recognises and commemorates businessmen and industrialists who uphold the highest ethical practices in business. Constituted in 1988, these Awards are judged on eight vital parameters, including customer satisfaction, employee motivation, environmental protection, and corporate social responsibility, among others.

Chief Guest for the Award Ceremony is Mr. Uday Kotak
Mr. Uday Kotak, Chief Guest for the CFBP – 31st Jamnalal Bajaj Award Ceremony

Each year, the Awards are presented to the manufacturing enterprises, service organisations as well as trade and distribution and charitable associations who have made significant efforts in promoting Fair Business Practices and demonstrated high standards of integrity in their business dealings, thereby helping to promote the interest of consumers. The Awards set a benchmark in the Business Sector as CFBP is a brand that evokes credible recognition.

Applications were invited from Large Enterprises (with turnover above Rs. 1,000 crores) and SMEs (with turnover between Rs. 50 and Rs. 1,000 crores) in the respective categories. This year, the Chief Guest for the Award Ceremony is Mr. Uday Kotak, Managing Director & CEO of Kotak Mahindra Bank.

Some of the distinguished personalities who graced the Awards function in the past as “Chief Guest” include Former President of India Late Hon. Dr. Abdul Kalam, Former Prime Minister of India – Dr. Manmohan Singh, Former Finance Minister – Mr. P. Chidambaram, Late Mr. J.R.D. Tata, Mr. N.R. Narayan Murthy, Former Governor of Maharashtra – Dr. P. C. Alexander, Mr. Adi Godrej, Mr. Nandan Nilekani, Mr. Deepak Parekh, Mr. Aditya Puri, Mr. Ajay Piramal, Mr. Suresh Prabhu – Railways Minister and Smt. Arundhati Bhattacharya – Ex-Chairman, SBI.

Dignitaries for the CFBP - 31st Jamnalal Bajaj Award Ceremony
Dignitaries for the CFBP – 31st Jamnalal Bajaj Award Ceremony

The 2018 Awardees were selected by an independent panel of eminent judges headed by Ex-Chief Justice (Delhi High Court) Mr Ajit P. Shah. Other jury members included CFBP President Mr.Swapnil Kothari, Founder Member Mr. Shekhar Bajaj, Vice-President, and Awards Committee Chairman Mr. Vineet Bhatnagar, Hon. Secretary Mr.Niranjan Jhunjhunwala, and Hon. Treasurer Mr.Anand Patwardhan.

The Winners of 31st CFBP Jamnalal Bajaj Awards 2018-19

Manufacturing Enterprises – Large

Trophy Winners
Bharat Electronics Limited, Bengaluru
Rashtriya Chemicals and Fertilizers Ltd., Mumbai

Manufacturing Enterprises – SME

Trophy Winner
Shree Gajanan Industries, Nizamabad – Trophy Winner

Certificate of Merit

H.K. Designs, Mumbai

Service Enterprise – Large

Trophy Winner
ECGC Ltd., Mumbai

Service Enterprises – SME

Trophy Winner
Bannari Amman Institute of Technology, Tamil Nadu

Charitable Associations

Trophy Winner
GOONJ, New Delhi

Certificate of Merit

We Need You Society, Thane

Past winners of the Puraskar(Awards) include ACC Ltd., Bharat Petroleum Ltd., Dabur India Ltd. Glaxo India Ltd., Infosys Technologies Ltd., Shoppers Stop, Oil and Natural Gas Corporation Ltd. (ONGC), New Delhi, Mangalam Cement Ltd., AarviEncon Pvt. Ltd., Thadomal Shahani Trust, Mumbai, and many other eminent companies.

Award distribution at CFBP - 31st Jamnalal Bajaj Award Ceremony
Award distribution at CFBP – 31st Jamnalal Bajaj Award Ceremony

CFBP was established in 1966 by stalwarts of business and industry like Mr. J.R.D. Tata, Mr.Ramkrishna Bajaj, Mr.Arvind Mafatlal, Mr.F.T.Khorakiwala, Mr. Naval Tata, Mr. S. P. Godrej, Mr.J.N.Guzder, and Mr. Keshub Mahindra and others who recognized the imperative need of business and industry to regulate itself.

It is probably the only organization of Businessmen and Professionals who function for the benefit of the Consumers and has been fortunate to have some eminent individuals leading the organization for the last 53 years since 1966. Its current Executive Committee comprises of top professionals, businessmen and highly accomplished members from other walks of life. It’s Advisory Board boasts of the crème de la crème of the civilized society.

CFBP undertakes a wide spectrum of initiatives to further its mission, which includes conducting public seminars on key consumer issues. It serves as a bridge between the manufacturers and consumers for the promotion of a good business relationship. Its membership includes businessmen, professionals, individuals, trade associations and companies.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here